Part One- Employee Development Plan

employee-development-plan-768x504

Part one of this week is to propose a presentation for the importance of an Employee Development Plan to include the benefits and approaches to the plan.

Employee Development

Part Two- Personal Development Plan

My Personal Development Plan

Objective

Development refers to “formal education, job experiences, relationships, and assessment of personality and skills that help employees prepare for the future” (Noe, 2013, p.367). Development is essential for preparing employees for expanding their ability to grow into new roles or positions, but also for expanding their abilities and preparing them for changes within the workplace that take place both due to external and internal impacts (Noe, 2013). A for my own individual personal development plan, to prepare myself for new roles or opportunities and to prepare myself for changes that occur in the workplace, there are several types of development that I can initiate both on my own as well as with the support of my current employer. These include formal education outside my workplace, formal education within my workplace, job experiences, and interpersonal relationships.

Formal Education outside of My Organization

While my military organization offers a wide variety of formal education programs to support my educational development, I also intend to continue pursue educational programs outside of my workplace. As a student in the Master’s Degree for Instructional Design and Technology program, I plan to continue to challenge myself with further educational opportunities in the field of IDT.  Many organizations offer tuition reimbursement, which allows employees to receive financial contributions towards coursework and degree programs that can support their development (Noe, 2013). As a retired military service member, I am taking advantage of the educational opportunities offered and paid for through my military service.

Formal Education within My Organization

Formal education sponsored by organizations can occur both off-site and on-site and with some programs that are designed to be directly linked to the organization’s business strategies (Noe, 2013). The military organization where I am currently employed as a Training Administrator has many different formal education programs that employees can attend to obtain various certifications and acquire knowledge and skills needed for supporting some of the training or institutional goals that the organization envisions. Some of these programs include Civilian Life Long Learning (CL3) that offers training and development to assist the civilian workforce to improve their knowledge about existing tools and programs which can enhance their productivity, competitiveness, and career.

Job Experiences

Job experiences are an approach to development that helps employees to apply their existing knowledge and skills to new experiences in order to expand and develop new skills (Noe, 2013). My development plan for myself includes short and long term goals to pursue the opportunity for job advancement and consulting to expand and develop some of the skills I have acquired through this graduate program as well as within my current role. Job enlargement consists of providing new responsibilities to an existing job through new projects, assignments, or roles (Noe, 2013). More specifically in the short term, I envision taking on a project of redesigning a portion of our training program to create an online distance learning module as a prerequisite. Additionally, I see want to use my experience to facilitate as a consultant to assist other organizations with design and development to address training and development issues along with performance improvement. 

Interpersonal Relationships

As a military retiree, it has been etched into my character to teach, coach and mentor those who may replace us one day. Interpersonal relationships help employees to develop their knowledge of the organization through either mentoring or coaching where the employee is able to interact with individuals who have more experience within the organization (Noe, 2013). “A mentor is an experienced productive senior employee who helps develop less experience employees” (Noe, 2013, p.394). Each day we are faced with young soldiers eager to learn, not only about the military, but in the nursing filed as well.  Our organization has a mentor program that assists students with transition to military life and schooling. I used this mentoring program while on active duty to help further develop my leaderships as well as assist other soldiers seeking development and a sense of integration. I also plan to continue to mentor new leadership within my department who can help them to transition and grow foster positive communication and meaning as well as develop my leadership skills.

References

Noe, R. A. (2013). Employee training and development (6th ed.). New York, NY: McGraw Hill.

Leave a Reply

